Academic Council of CY-Biobank

In the context of fulfilling the obligations as per the Regulations of the University of Cyprus (UCY-General regulations for the Centers of Excellence and Research Units, 1999-), as well as establishing as an overarching governing body for the Center of Excellence (CoE thereafter) has set up in 2020 a 5-member Academic Council. The Council is mainly responsible for decisions on matters related to its scientific activities and research planning, Biobanking development, funding challenges and administration, amongst others.

The chairman of the Academic Council is the Director of the CoE who is responsible for the day to day activities of the Center. The Director is appointed by the Senate for a period of five years (with possibility of renewal) according to the rules drawn up by the Senate and approved by the UCY Council.  The Academic Council meets every four months (or more frequently if it is necessary) and an agenda is prepared by the CoE Director prior to the meeting.

The Academic Council submits CoE’s annual budget to the Senate. In addition, the CoE prepares and submits to the Senate an annual report describing past year’s activities including details of income and expenses. For the duration of the CY-Biobank Project, similar reports must be submitted to the UCY Research and Budget Offices as well as to the Deputy Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy (Cyprus). The activities of the CoE are evaluated 6 months prior to 5-year term of the Director, based on criteria stipulated by the Senate and a decision is made regarding continuing of operations.

Members of the UCY that work at the CoE research programs can be invited at the Academic Council meetings as observers.

The current composition of the Academic Council is as follows: